Ephesians 5:2

I was struggling to come up with the best way to start off the entire blog with this first post. I thought overnight and all morning, and I finally decided that explaining why I chose the title of my blog was a really good way to begin the whole thing.

Ephesians 5:2 is a very important verse to me. I couldn’t choose between the NLT version and the Message, so I’m going to put up both!

“Live a life filled with love, following the example of Christ. He loved us and offered Himself as a sacrifice for us, a pleasing aroma to God.” NLT

“Mostly what God does is love you. Keep company with Him and learn a life of love. Observe how Christ loved us. His love was not cautious but extravagant. He didn’t love in order to get something from us but to give everything of Himself to us. Love like that.” MSG

Okay, so after typing them out, I really, really love the Message version of that verse. I love the way it describes Jesus’ love to be “not cautious but extravagant.” And how it explains that He didn’t sacrifice Himself in order to get something out of it from us but just to give everything He had to us. That’s amazing to me. Beyond words, really.

I chose “Walk in Love” to be the title for one reason in particular. I graduated high school last month, and if there is one thing I would have done differently, it would be how I loved others. Or the amount in which I loved others. Now, I don’t mean I’m sad I didn’t go around and give every single person I saw a hug. That’s not really me. What I mean is that I wish I had been kinder. I wish I had complimented people more often, whether it be about how nice their hair looked or something I liked about their personality. I probably could have smiled at or waved to people when I was walking down the hallway more often and other things like that. Now, don’t get me wrong. I wasn’t a recluse, and I didn’t avoid interaction with other human life forms. It’s that I usually waited for another person to speak to me first instead of creating the opportunity myself. I wish I had gone just a bit more out of my way to make someone else’s day better.

But lucky for me, I can learn to walk in love! Now, I can assure you, I will mess up. Living a life filled with love may sound all nice and dreamy, but it’s harder than that (at least for me). If I’m having a bad day, I can tell you right now that I probably won’t feel like going around shouting out compliments to the world. Or if someone isn’t nice to me, I probably won’t feel like shouting a compliment in their face or even …smiling at them! *gasp!* But living according to Ephesians 5:2 is about overcoming those things and trying your best to follow Christ’s example. To show love to someone without expecting anything from them in return. To love without caution. To love with extravagance.

This is my goal as I start the next chapter of my life. To Walk in Love.

walk in love

10 thoughts on “Ephesians 5:2

  1. So proud of the woman you are becoming. What a great outlook to have and one we should all strive to do more of…. Love. I’m starting now… I love you!!!

  2. Starting a blog is a big step – but I think you’ll like it. You’re off to a fabulous start! Keep reminding us to walk in love – a great theme and goal. Love you!

  3. Hi Lauren, so proud of YOU and LOVE YOU! I love the name of your blog and your post. I can’t wait to keep up with you in “blog” world. I started a blog years ago and have never went back to blogging. I want to, but haven’t taken the time to start it back up. Take care and talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

